Command Hooks: A Renter’s Best Friend

***Disclaimer: This is not a sponsored post. I just happen to love Command products and I wanted to share these ideas with my readers. All opinions stated here are my own unless otherwise denoted.

So many things are off-limits to a renter. In my last post, I talked about how to combat a lease that doesn’t allow paint. But what about one that doesn’t allow nails for hanging decorative items on your walls?

Here is the perfect solution: Command Hooks & Strips

Those versatile little inventions are perfect for renters that like to decorate but don’t like to pay for damages later.

I like Command strips because they’re really strong, and they don’t get me in trouble with my landlord.

–Sara Bechtel, 21

The products are so easy to use as well. There are no special tools or products needed. Simply buy the Command products and follow these instructions.

To Apply:

  1. Peel the red printed liner off.
  2. Apply the strip to the back of the hook.
  3. Peel off black printed liner.
  4. Press hook against the wall.
  5. Hold firmly for 3 seconds.

To Remove:

  1. Grasp the hook.
  2. Pull to stretch the Command strip straight down.

Here is a video to show the process.

Command Hooks are perfect for hanging:

  • photo frames
  • shelving
  • curtains
  • over-the-door items
  • kitchen utensils

& so much more!

Command Strip/Hook Inspiration:

Make a Gallery Wall

Gallery Wall

Rachael from House of Noise used Command picture hanging strips to hang her gallery wall with much less effort (and no holes) compared to the traditional hammer and nail method.


 

Make Light Designs

christmas tree

Jamie Dorobek from C.R.A.F.T. used Command outdoor light strips to create this Christmas tree design on her garage door. To try this yourself, check out the tutorial on her blog.


 

 

Keep electrical cords from interfering with decor

cords

Cassie from Hi, Sugarplum uses clear hooks from Command to attach her lamp cords to her end tables to keep the mess off of the floor and let her decor be the center of attention.


 

There are too many brilliant ways that people have come up with to use these products. I don’t have enough time or space to show you them all, but I found my inspiration on Pinterest, and I encourage you too look there as well.

If you follow the link to this infographic that I created, you will find extra information about Command products. The interactive graphic contains each type of Command Hook and Strip, its purpose, and its weight limit. Just click on the type of hook you think you will need, and the bar graph at the bottom will automatically be sorted to show you the weight limit of each product listed.

Use the info graphic as a planner for which products you will need to complete your next project. If it’s helpful to you, don’t forget to leave a comment here to let me know!

Although Command products are versatile and don’t cause damage to surfaces, there is one major flaw most people seem to agree on.

“I think Command products are great for hanging my photos. I love that they don’t cause any damage to my walls, but sometimes I choose not to use them. It gets a little pricey if I try to buy them for all of my pictures.”

— Diana Cross, 49

The cost efficiency of Command brand products can definitely be somewhat questionable. Other brands have similar products, and I imagine they would work in the same ways. However, because I haven’t tried them, I can’t say for certain that they are damage-free. Feel free to share your thoughts and opinions on brands that may rival Command’s products!

Would you like to share any creative ways you’ve use Command strips or hooks? I’m excited for new ideas.

Thanks for reading!

Blog Nameplate

Leave a Reply

